At Action we are committed to a sound governance structure and we are running our business with integrity. We firmly believe that transparency contributes to Action’s success. Our governance structure reflects how the company is managed, considering the interests of all stakeholders.

Simple and straightforward management structure

The way we manage our business is in line with our formula: simple and straightforward, with clear demarcations on what is done centrally and what is done within the country offices. At our international headquarters in Zwaagdijk (the Netherlands), a team of professionals works to support the ten country offices in the execution of our expansion strategy.

Our teams at the international headquarters develop and share expertise across different fields, including HR, IT, Legal, Finance, Marketing and Communications. Our buying team is active globally. Our country offices are primarily focused on store operations and support the stores with the acquisition and construction of new stores and HR services.

Action’s executive directors, our CEO Hajir Hajji and CFO Joost Sliepenbeek, are responsible for the day-to-day management of the company and together form the Executive Board. They lead by example with respect to managing risk and ensuring compliance with laws, regulations and our internal policies. The Executive Board is assisted and supported in carrying out their duties and responsibilities by an executive committee consisting of 16 senior leaders responsible for the key functions in our company.



Information Action Distribution Center
Click here to read our SEVESO information sheet for the public in Slovakia

Over 80% of Action’s shares are owned by 3i Group plc and funds managed by 3i, a FTSE 100 firm with operations across Europe and North America. Action has a one-tier governance structure with a Board of Directors, consisting of our CEO and our CFO as executive directors and six non-executive directors. Our current non-executive directors are Simon Borrows (board chair), Menno Antal, Marc van Gelder, Robert van Goethem, Boris Kawohl, Sameer Narang and Ulrich Wolters. An Audit Committee and a Selection, Nomination and Remuneration Committee have been established as sub-committees of the board.